Liverpool FC in the USA and why you should keep dreaming

Finally got to see my beloved Liverpool football club live this past weekend.  Liverpool, the most decorated club in English football (yes, it’s NOT Manchester United) actually came stateside, so I headed out to Baltimore to watch the game.  Watching the team has been a dream of mine for the longest time, I’ve wanted to go to Anfield in Liverpool to watch them.

Liverpool still has a large worldwide fan base. I was surprised by the number of reds, especially given the hapless opposition.

Legend Steven Gerrard.

M&T stadium is not Anfield, but still this had me thinking about how pretty much everything I’ve ever wanted has come true.  I don’t mean stuff like wanting a Ferrari or a million dollar mansion (and in any case most people that say that’s what they want don’t really truly want those things).

See I work regular daytime nine-to-five office job, and at this time I’m still a grad student.  I’m not “rich”, I don’t have any real savings. And yet in the past couple of years I’ve:  Flown in first class, gone bar hopping in Italy with glowing monuments in the background, had my first real American camping experience, and done some stunts on ATVs by the Pyramids.   None of that should be possible given my profile.

Three takeaways here are the importance of a burning desire, the irrelevance of “your situation” in order to enjoy your life, and the importance of actually having things you want to do or accomplish.

Having a burning desire is when you really want to do something and it consumes you.  I originally read about the concept in Napoleon Hill’s Think and Grow Rich, and the idea is that whatever your fixated in eventually manifests in your life.  That has certainly happened for me, thing is it won’t necessarily—or usually for that matter, happen exactly when or how you imagined but it will happen and you will enjoy it just as much.  The irrelevance of your situation is basically not deciding a priori that it’s impossible for you to do whatever you want to do.  Chris Guilleabeau (a fantastic blogger who you should all be reading) talks about this much better than I can in a recent post.  Lastly, it is good to enjoy these peak moments in life and to plan for them.  Watch videos, take pictures, talk about, write about and think about anything and everything that you’d like to do!

Leave a comment